Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Startups News Hub

NUC Splits Mass Communication into Seven Different Programs

Reading Time: < 1 minute


The Nigeria University Commission (NUC) has disclosed that it has split mass communication into seven different courses.

This means that as from March 2020, mass communication will no longer be offered as a single course of study in Nigerian Universities.

Making this announcement, the Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, said the time of Mass Communication as a single course in universities is over, as the commission has unbundled the course to respond to demands of the labour market.

This development follows the presentation of a new curriculum on February 5, 2019, which sought the unbundling of mass communication and the creation of seven-degree awarding departments to be domiciled under a School/College of Communication studies in Nigerian universities.

Rasheed, listed the seven-courses to include said:

1.) Journalism and Media Studies

2.) Public Relations

3.) Advertising

4.) Broadcasting

5.) Film and Multi-Media Studies

6.) Development Communication Studies

7.) Information and Media Studies.

The NUC’s Executive Secretary, however, said that the commission will retain Mass Communication for the universities that are yet to have the capacity to offer the newly introduced courses.

READ  FG Launches Micro Pension Plan For Self Employed Nigerians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.